Pharmacy staff in DC

WASHINGTON, D.C. — On April 10-11, 2019, members of Surgoinsville Pharmacy, along with several other Tennessee pharmacists, proudly represented the independent pharmacies across the state at the National Community Pharmacists Association’s fly-in held in Washington, D.C. According to NCPA, the fly-in can be described as an “opportunity to meet with members of Congress in person and ask them to support pro-community pharmacy legislation pending in the House and Senate.” This was a unique opportunity to voice the importance of independent pharmacies in the communities and bring to light concerns about the unfair practices of Pharmacy Benefit Managers (PBMs) and Direct and Indirect Remuneration fees (DIR), which continue to threaten the very existence of independent pharmacies nationwide. This representation has resulted in the passage of the Comprehensive PBM reform bill in the House and is awaiting a vote in the Senate. Pictured, left to right, are: Phonzie Brown, D.Ph, Micah Cost, Pharm.D. and TPA Executive Director, Amber Suthers, CPhT, MSAH from Surgoinsville Pharmacy, Gordon Smith, D.Ph, Beth Bryan, Pharm.D. and owner of Surgoinsville Pharmacy, Raewyn Snodderly, Pharm.D., Jason Kizer, Pharm.D., Kevin Hartman, Pharm.D., Phil Lafoy, D.Ph.